Honorable presidents, distinguished guests, invited speakers, ladies and gentlemen from home and abroad. It is our great pleasure and privilege to welcome you to the 2021 Joint International Conference on English Teaching and Learning in Korea. This conference—jointly organized by eight leading English education associations in Korea—will be a historically meaningful conference in that the largest number of English-related associations are here, united. We have come together to provide a more focused and comprehensive academic forum and to concentrate our capabilities on overcoming the challenges of teaching and learning that have arisen from the COVID-19 pandemic. This online international conference will also actively promote communication and ensure academic discussion among diverse associations and members, especially in this time of COVID-19, which is changing our educational paradigm.

We are very excited for all of you to share your research and insights with our community of English language educators. Our deepest appreciation and gratitude must go to all the individuals who will contribute to the success of this joint international conference. We would like to extend our deepest gratitude to all the invited speakers, in particular our keynote speaker Professor Glen Stockwell, our plenary speakers, Professor David Block, Professor Curtis, J. Bonk, Professor Arthur C. Graesser, Professor William O’Grady, Professor Nicole Ziegler, and Professor Jayoung Song, and of course, to our many featured speakers as well. We are also excited to be able to hold more than 200 concurrent presentations.

We would like to give our special thanks to the conference chair, Professor Jong-Bae Hwang, the site-chair, Professor Hyo Shin Lee, and other conference committee members.

We hope that this conference will be a memorable and valuable time to share your inspiration and passion for English education, especially during this Covid-19 pandemic period! Good health, great happiness and much success to all of you.

Hoo Dong Kang (President, Korea Association of Teachers of English – KATE)

Mi-Lim Ryoo (Pan-Korea English Teachers Association – PKETA)

Jaemyung Goo (Global English Teachers Association – GETA)

Jaeho Choi (Modern English Education Society – MEESO)

Jungtae Kim (Korea Association of Multimedia-Assisted Language Learning – KAMALL)

Kyeong-Ouk Jeong (Korea English Education Society – KEES)

Isaiah WonHo Yoo (Korea Association of Secondary English Education – KASEE)

Mun-Koo Kang (The English Teachers Association in Korea – ETAK)